Faking It With the Grump

He’s Mr. Darcy meets Oscar the Grouch—but his kiss is a plot twist I did not see coming.


Imagine this: getting the old heave-ho from Dex Ryder, the Hollywood heartthrob I thought I was destined to marry. And as a special bonus, I’ve won a free ticket back to my small hometown in Washington state.

Suddenly, every mother’s son, second cousin twice removed, and the neighbor’s cat groomer is being lined up to be my next great love. And don’t even get me started on the “Oh, you poor thing” expressions that are practically giving me sympathy-induced whiplash.

Enter stage left one Christopher Young, the shiny new import to Hunter’s Creek. I decide to take on the challenge of making him mine—or at least faking it with style. I’m in a post-being dumped daze right now, and Christopher? Think master of all things dull and cranky and the proud owner of a suit-and-tie in a sea of flannel-wearing lumberjacks. He’s the perfect fake boyfriend to put those relentless matchmakers off the scent.

And the totally irrelevant fact that the public kiss we just shared is doing weird things to my blood pressure doesn’t mean a thing.


Not. A. Thing.

This relationship is as fake as a Real Housewife’s lips, and that’s the way it’s going to stay.



Faking It With The Grump is a grumpy-sunshine, opposites attract, fake relationship romance set in the small town of Hunter’s Creek, Washington. It’s the first book in the new Second Chance Café series. Each book follows a different sister’s love story, and can be read as a standalone novel or as part of a series.


Get the audiobook!

Praise for Faking It With the Grump:

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ “Small town, fake relationship, grumpy sunshine. All my favorite tropes wrapped up in one gorgeous, feel-good rom com.” –USA Today bestselling author, Whitney Dineen

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ “What a charming rom com! I have already packed my bags, ready to move to Hunter’s Creek.” – bestselling author, Melanie Summers

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ “Escape to the charming small town of Hunter’s Creek in this hilarious and heart-warming rom com.” – USA Today bestselling author, Delancey Stewart


Reader’s LOVE Faking It With the Grump:

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ “Like a Hallmark movie with much better kissing.” – Bookstagrammer

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ “L-O-V-E-D this book!” – Amazon reviewer

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ “Um, how can a book be so dang cute?” – Goodreads reviewer

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ “Oh what joy, what a brilliant start to a new series, I have already packed my bags ready to move to Hunter’s Creek.” – Goodreads reviewer

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ “The pacing, writing, and characters were perfect. I read this in a couple of hours. I just could not put it down.” – Goodreads reviewer

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ “This is a Hallmark movie in a book (which the book even pokes fun at), and I am so here for it.” – Amazon reviewer

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ “Faking It With the Grump by Kate O’Keeffe is the perfect mix of romance in the does she/does he style — just adorable.” – Bookbub reviewer

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ “This was the perfect book. I devoured it. Loved the chemistry and the slow burn. Loved the small town. I was smiling the whole time I was reading. I can’t wait for the second in the series. Everything about this book was perfection. I didn’t want the book to end!” – Amazon reviewer

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ “This book was sweetness times two. I loved the premise, the characters, the community, the conflict, the slow burn, the groveling, the drama, the reconciliation, and the conclusion.” – Amazon reviewer

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ “What do you get when you mix together opposites attract, grumpy/sunshine, fake dating, and slow burn tropes, and then you add a cute Hallmark vibe to it? An absolutely adorable story, that’s what!” – Apple reviewer

Titles in the Second Chance Café series:

Each title in the series can be read as a standalone as each book is about one of the three Cole sisters, Harper, Ryn, and Marlowe. If you want to read them in order, here it is:

Book 1: Faking It With the Grump

Book 2: Faking It With My Best Friend

Book 3: Faking It With the Guy Next Door